Ambleside Log Cabin 3 Bedroom 3.5 Bath in Valle Crucis NC


Due to COVID-19 we have increased our already rigorous cleaning procedures. In order to protect you, our housekeepers are doing everything they can, while in the cabin, to insure the cabin is cleaned and ready for your use. After cleaning, the housekeepers are sanitizing the entire cabin with a hospital grade disinfectant that is EPA approved for COVID-19. We're doing everything we can to help you stay safe! No-contact check-in/out process available upon request.


Our newest addition to Little Bavaria, Ambleside! At the top of the development with acres of privacy and views of Grandfather Mountain. Dog friendly(pet fee per pet), two wood-burning fireplaces, hot tub and firepit under the stars, air conditioned, pool table, big screen TV, Wi-Fi, plenty of gated decks, fishing at the lake, three bedrooms, three and a half baths and nicely furnished! Main floor features the family room with a wood burning fireplace, dining room, half bath and kitchen for your entertaining pleasure. Also on the main floor is a bedroom with a queen bed and private bath. Upstairs is the loft and the master bedroom with king bed, gas log fireplace and private bath. On the lower level is the game room with pool table, a second wood burning fireplace and BIG screen TV. Also on the lower level is the third bedroom with a queen bed and private bath. Ambleside has it all and is ready for all of you!!

4 wheel drive required during Winter conditions.

Rooms & Amenities

Property Type Cabin / Bungalow , 3 Story
Unit Code ABL
Beds 1 King, 2 Queen
Bathrooms 3.5 Bathrooms
Rooms Sleeps 6 , 1 loft
Pets Dogs
Standard Amenities king, queen, sleep sofa /futon, toilet, tub, autumn foliage, caves, churches, festivals, forests, museums, playground, restaurants, synagogues, theme parks, waterfalls, winery tours, Dining, DVD Player, Pool Table, Satellite / Cable, Television, Smart TV, Air Conditioning, Clothes Dryer, Fireplace, Heating, Internet, Linens Provided, Living Room, Parking, Telephone, Towels Provided, Washing Machine, Desk, Wifi, Free Wifi, Desk Chair, Coffee Maker, Dishes & Utensils, Dishwasher, Kitchen, Microwave, Oven, Refrigerator, Stove, Toaster, Dining Table, horseback riding, outlet shopping, scenic drives, sight seeing, sledding, walking, ATM/bank, Babysitter, fitness center, groceries, hospital, laundromat, massage therapist, medical services, Mountain View, Deck / Patio, Golf, Outdoor Grill, Hot Tub, basketball court, cycling, equestrian events, fishing, fly fishing, freshwater fishing, golf, hiking, hunting, mountain biking, mountain climbing, rafting, roller blading, skiing, spelunking, swimming, tennis, water skiing, water tubing, whitewater rafting, children welcome, non smoking only, pets considered, Minimum Age Limit for Renters, recommended, Housekeeper Included, Concierge, Outdoor lighting, Smoke detectors, Fire extinguisher, Enhanced cleaning practices, Clean with disinfectant, High touch surfaces cleaned with disinfectant, Towels and bedding washed in water that's at least 60sC/140sF
Living Central Air, Air Conditioning, Ceiling Fans, Linens, Washer & Dryer, Ironing Board, High Speed Internet, Fireplace
Business Nearby ATM, Nearby Post Office, Nearby FedEx, Nearby Bank
Convenience Nearby Medical Services, Nearby Grocery, Outlet Shopping, Movie Theatres, Golf Course
Outdoor Deck, Gas Grill, Hot Tub, Fire Pit
Geographic Secluded, Close to Town
Entertainment Cable TV, CD Player, DVD Player, Stereo System, Fire Pit

28 Reviews

Overall satisfaction
Property condition

100.00% of our reviewers would recommend this vacation rental.

Great High Country Property

Anonymous from Gainesville, FL
Stayed 31 days ending August 2022

We return time and again to Ambleside, a lovely log home in the special Vilas community of "Little Bavaria." A fitting name for the style of all the log homes, the picturesque fishing pond, and especially the views from the balconies of Ambleside. This property is well equipped with three bedrooms, 3.5 baths, a main floor great room which includes the kitchen, a loft office leading to the master bedroom, and a ground floor game room. It is expertly managed and maintained.

Lambert 2yr anniversary

Anita L. from Max Meadows, VA
Stayed 2 days ending February 2022

Enjoyed our 2yr anniversary weekend at the Ambleside cabin. We spent a day at Grandfather Mountain and fished in the nearby pond. Always enjoy experiencing a different cabin and scenery each year! Thanks for sharing your beautiful cabin with us ❤️

Love Log Cabin Rentals!

Joan & Sam B. from Mebane, NC
Stayed 5 days ending November 2021

We have been staying with Log Cabin Rentals for years. They have always been friendly and extremely efficient and helpful. Although we have stayed in several cabins, we prefer Ambleside for our family. All of the cabins are impeccably clean and there have never been any problems. I would highly recommend Log Cabin Rentals!

November family getaway

Alan F. from Salisbury, NC
Stayed 4 days ending November 2021

We had a great time at the cabin. Very clean and our boys had a great time downstairs!


Linda H. from Hampstead, NC
Stayed 7 days ending February 2022

This was our first trip to the mountains and couldn’t have been better. The house was in a perfect location with proximity to Boone, Blowing Rock, and Beech Mountain. It was in great shape, well stocked, and had an awesome hot tub looking at Grandfather Mountain. The driveway was a little steep so best to have 4 wheel drive in the winter. The rental company was also great. I left my jacket at the house and they mailed it back to me. I received it in 2 days. We will definitely book this house again! Great experience.

The perfect getaway

Edel H. from Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Stayed 7 days ending January 2022

We loved everything about Ambleside and would return in a heart beat. The cabin is cozy, well equipped and the views are stunning. My one feedback is the lighting across the house needs a little love. The lighting through out most of the rooms is poor. The kitchen and open living space in main area mainly. The lighting is very dim. The room on the main floor had no bulbs in the fan with only closet light and 1 lamp functioning.


Elizabeth C. from North Myrtle Beach, SC
Stayed 7 days ending August 2021

Lovely, quiet plce, remote but near to many area attractions.

Manager Responded on 9/6/2021

Elizabeth, thanks for your stay at Ambleside. We appreciate your comments and rating. We look forward to your return, Jim

Memorial weekend

Anonymous from Greensboro, NC
Stayed 3 days ending May 2021

We had a very nice stay. The cabin was very nice but could have used some TV's in the bedrooms and main floor.

Manager Responded on 9/6/2021

Nancy, thanks for your stay at Ambleside. We appreciate your comments and rating. We look forward to your return, Jim


Paige E. from CARY, NC,
Stayed 7 days ending July 2021

We had a wonderful week at Ambleside cabin in Little Bavaria! Kitchen is very well stocked, pool table, hot tub, and many porches with Grandfather views made for a great stay for everyone! The master upstairs is to die for with a smart tv, fireplace, soaker tub and private porch! Ambleside is very private at the top of the development. Caught many bass and sunfish in the catch and release pond and saw lots of deer and bunnies every day. All of the staff at VCLCR were very helpful with our booking and adding nights to our stay. We have been staying with VCLCR since the early 2000's and don't stay with anyone else in the High Country! Jim and his staff are wonderful.

Manager Responded on 9/6/2021

Paige, thanks for your stay at Ambleside. We appreciate your comments and rating. We look forward to your return, Jim

Great place!

Heather B. from Rock Hill, SC
Stayed 2 days ending June 2021

Ambleside was great! The cabin was clean and the kitchen was fully stocked. It was close to Banner Elk Winery Villa and Grandfather Vineyard which was the purpose of our weekend getaway. We had three couples and there was ample room for us. My only suggestion would be to have a tv in the main living room as it was more spacious than downstairs for gathering and hanging out.

Manager Responded on 9/6/2021

Heather, thanks for your stay at Ambleside. We appreciate your comments and rating. We look forward to your return, Jim

Best Vacation

Anonymous from Gastonia, North Carolina
Stayed 5 days ending August 2021

My family and I had the best time. It was clean, quiet, cozy, and had everything we needed. The views were beautiful, you could see the stars so brightly at night. My only recommendation would be to have a TV on the main living floor. We had kiddos and when we were in the kitchen cooking it would have been nice for them to be able to watch TV while we could keep an eye on them from the kitchen and all be together.

Manager Responded on 9/6/2021

Kathrine, thanks for your stay at Ambleside. We appreciate your comments and rating. We look forward to your return, Jim

Weekend Escape w/ a View of Grandfather Mountain

Sandra M. from Concord, North Carolina,
Stayed 2 days ending August 2021

Lovely, very comfortable cabin with gorgeous view. This home has a lot to offer. Each bedroom has its own bathroom, each floor has a bedroom, giving everyone their own space. Multiple areas outside to enjoy any kind of weather/activity (hot tub, fire pit, star gazing). We are looking forward to staying there again.

Manager Responded on 9/6/2021

Sandra, thanks for your stay at Ambleside. We appreciate your comments and rating. We look forward to your return, Jim

Ambleside is amazing

Anonymous from Rural Hall, NC
Stayed 5 days ending September 2021

Perfect on all accounts. View is spectacular and very private. Awesome

Perfect Place for Privacy and Amazing Views

Cheryl M. from CARY, NC,
Stayed 8 days ending October 2021

Great roomy cabin in a private location with a great view of Grandfather Mountain. Beds were comfortable, scenery was amazing, kitchen was well-stocked. If you are looking for the perfect getaway place, this is it!

Ambleside cabin

Anonymous from Palm City, FL
Stayed 4 days ending July 2019

Lovely Cabin in a lovely area!

Peaceful,Beautiful and Thankful for sharing their Home.

Petra & Joseph O. from Apopka, FL
Stayed 7 days ending October 2019

The whole experience was very special. We had three very special celebrations and it’s always awesome when everyone is together . Mountains, Beautiful weather , great food ,and best location.All under one roof:)) It was very hard to leave. Thank-you Valle Crucis Vacation Rentals, we will be back for our 8 th rental.Joe & Petra o.

Perfect Weekend Getaway

Teresa W. from Wake Forest, NC,
Stayed 2 days ending November 2019

We have stayed at Ambleside many times and always enjoy our time there!

Retreat to Ambleside

Whitney T. from Rural Hall, North Carolina,
Stayed 3 days ending November 2019

We had a wonderful experience at Ambleside. This was our third time booking through Valle Crucis Log Cabin Rentals. We utilized this trip as a business retreat to make goals and review progress over the past year. The amenities provided for a relaxing getaway and allowed a break from work with the hot tub and pool table.

My one concern was that housekeeping notated dog hair left in one of the beds, however our pets did not travel with us this trip. We did not use one of the bedrooms so it makes me question the cleanliness of that third room. The property management company was easy to work with on the housekeeping note and we will continue to book through Valle Crucis.

A truly special place

Leslie S. from Huntersville, NC,
Stayed 2 days ending January 2020

We just stayed at Ambleside for our 4th time. It is absolutely the best cabin. It checks every box for us. The house is beautifully decorated, sparkling clean and you can't beat the privacy. The hot tub is large and positioned away from the house so you can relax with the jets and admire the natural beauty that surrounds you. The fire pit is also in a great location, close to the house so you can run in to refill your wine glass and grab an extra bag of marshmallows. The kitchen is loaded with every gadget and utensil that you could ever need. The 2 wood burning fireplaces are also a great feature. I can't say enough about this cabin. We have stayed in other cabins (which were also nice) but we keep coming back to Ambleside.

Love Ambleside

Joan & Sam B. from Mebane, NC
Stayed 5 days ending November 2020

We always have a great time at Ambleside. The place is perfect for our family with the 3 levels and it is such a beautiful site. We started this Thanksgiving tradition several years ago and hope to continue for many more years.

Our kids’ favorite mountain get away

Garrett D. from Matthews, NC
Stayed 2 days ending February 2020

The house is beautiful, spacious, and clean! The views are outstanding! My kids look forward to coming to Ambleside every year now.

Breathtakingly Magnificent!!!

Anonymous from Denver, NC
Stayed 3 days ending February 2020

This cabin is beyond perfection! It has absolutely everything you could possibly want in a vacation cabin in the mountains. The cabin is close enough to town that you can be anywhere you want in less than 15 minutes but far enough out that you still feel secluded. I can't emphasize enough how perfect and luxurious this cabin is. Everything went smoothly from booking the reservation, to the friendly and helpful staff checking us in and out. We felt totally spoiled every step of the way and we will be back!!!!

Spectacular Getaway!

Carey P. from Cary, NC, US
Stayed 4 days ending March 2020

This house is beautiful and well appointed. It has terrific amenities and with 3 levels the kids could spread out and enjoy individual activities. Would stay here again!

Fabulous cabin

Daniel R. from Charlotte, NC
Stayed 7 days ending July 2020

Great place for a getaway. Feels very secluded yet not a bad drive into Boone for provisions. The whole family thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Relaxing Weekend with Friends

Anonymous from Albemarle, NC
Stayed 3 days ending October 2020

This cabin is beautiful and was perfect for 3 couples as each had a floor to their own. Location was great! Beautiful cabin with beautiful view! Relaxing porches with seating and a view of Grandfather Mountain. Hot tub, fire pit. Kitchen was well stocked. There was a slight problem with trying to make all 3 floors comfortable. When main level was comfortable, upper floor too hot and lower floor too cold. King bed very comfy, queen beds were not.

Relax at Ambleside

Tammy A. from CLAYTON, NC, US
Stayed 4 days ending November 2020

Rental company was easy to work with and quick to respond to request. The cabin was beautiful and well equipped. Location was peaceful with beautiful views.

Great Cabin

Cheyenne S. from Durham, NC,
Stayed 6 days ending November 2020

Great, spacious cabin! My husband and I wanted to plan a trip away, yet still be as safe as possible in these times of COVID. So we booked this cabin! The view from here is fantastic. We really loved the fire pit the most, and we appreciated how clean the hot tub was. The kitchen has everything you need. General areas were very clean and nicely decorated.

I only have 2 complaints; the black mold growing in the master shower. The hot handle needs taken off and soaked in bleach. This is the only shower we used so I can’t speak for the others. Sadly this seems to be fairly common in most cabins we’ve stayed. The second is the heating. It seems very unbalanced between the three floors. Set it to 70 it’s still very cold on the bottom, but unbreathable hot in the master. Since it was just us and our toddler sleeping in the same room, it was alright, but you might want to keep that in mind if using all three bedrooms.

We would love to stay in this cabin again sometime in the future


Kay H. from York, SC,
Stayed 4 days ending February 2021

Ambleside is beautiful with a truly scenic view of the mountains, water, etc. I have stayed with Log Cabin Rentals for approximately 20 years so I’ve been very satisfied. Over the years, we may have had a small complaint or two but our overall stay has always been very relaxing. If I had to critique this cabin, I would only offer a few suggestions for the owner/agency. First, the ice maker makes minimal ice at a time. It may need to be checked. Secondly, the wood was so green, we could not keep a fire going. We finally (the day before we left) tried the wood on the bottom of the pile and it stayed lit. We have had trouble with really wet wood in the past so this can be quite disappointing. Lastly, there was no tv in the main den area. With smart TVs, no cable is required so a tv mounted above the fireplace would be perfect. The games could be updated but with a smart tv, no movies are needed (they were extremely old anyway). Overall, the house was pretty and our stay successful. Of course, it’s always too short!!


    Book This Property